THE LIBRA

 

libra

 

Diplomatic and urbane

Romantic and charming

Easygoing and sociable

Idealistic and peaceable

 

Indecisive and changeable

Gullible and easily influenced

Flirtatious and self-indulgent

 

Hello.

Thanks for agreeing to meet me.

Good afternoon sir.

It is totally my pleasure.

That is very nice of you to say.

It is meant, my good man.

How are you feeling today?

I am well, thank you.

And you sir?

I am fine.

Do you call everyone ‘Sir?’

No, it is simply the proper

thing to call someone

who you are not yet

familiar with.

Oh? Well can we drop the ‘Sir?’

It makes me feel uncomfortable.

Yes. I would be comfortable with that.

May I introduce you to my Associate,

Miss Simone?

Good afternoon Miss Simone.

Good afternoon Mr. Smythe.

Please call me Peter.

And you may call me Pheobe.

Alright – – – Pheobe – – –

that is a fine name.

And – – – Peter – – –

since we have eliminated the ‘Sir’

you can call me ‘George.’

I am pleased that we have that out of the way.

Phoebe – – – do you live locally?

Why, as a matter of fact, I do.

Why do you ask?

Your complexion is flawless.

It is quite prevalent among

the young ladies from this area.

Very observant Peter.

Thank you George.

Shall we get on with the meeting?

If you do not mind

I would like to get to know

you and Phoebe

a little better before we move

the discussion forward.

That is a good idea.

I did not want to

waste your valuable time

with small talk.

I appreciate that.

Thank you for the compliment

on my complexion.

The truth is easy to speak.

Thank you again Peter.

Now, George, tell me a little

about your experience.

I am not sure if the two of us

run in the same circles.

Therefore I have no names

to give you as references.

That is to be expected.

However, you have seen

my work in the newspapers.

Excellent! Do Tell.

The accident out on I-87?

Yes, I have read about it.

That was my work.

A small glitch in the braking system.

Very nice.

And how did you accomplish that?

When the auto was in for service

I installed a small bug in the

on-board computer system.

Timed and undetectable?

Of course.

Timed to execute only if

the auto was traveling at

70 miles per hour and

programmed to erase itself

as soon as it was done with

the execution; no pun intended.

Marvelous! And your other work

was that published?

Yes. The university expects me

to publish at least three times

per year.

I see.

The CEO that was killed

in the failing elevator;

do you remember reading

about that?

Of course; and on TV also.

Yes, I received a lot of publicity

on that one; well – – – not me

directly, but rather the incident.

How did you accomplish such a

brilliant piece of work as that?

The elevators are monitored by a

maintenance system that records daily use;

number of stops, average # of floors 

travelled per trip and such.

And?

And this maintenance system can be

accessed remotely from any computer

if you know the phone number

and the pin number.

Phone number?

Yes. When you call the number

there is an automatic answering

device that ‘picks-up’ and then

monitors for the correct pin number.

And then?

And then I had complete control

over the elevator.

So I turned the braking system off

and the motors off also.

Can you say ‘free fall?’

(Chuckle) But how did you know

that the CEO was going to be in

the elevator at that time?

That’s were Phoebe comes in.

Ah yes. Sweet Phoebe;

tell me all about it.

It took me almost a month.

I made eye contact with

him at his favorite

watering hole.

Interesting!

It took him about 20 minutes

before he had enough nerve

to have the bartender

send over a drink.

Then?

Then another week before

I could seduce him and

another two weeks before

I could talk him into doing it

in his office.

During the daytime?

No Peter,

at night after everyone

had gone home.

And then you departed?

No. Well yes – – –

from his office.

But I hid until I saw him

get on the elevator.

And then you called George

to let him know that the target

was on the elevator?

Exactly.

Wonderful!

And what would you have

us do Peter?

It is the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister?

We don’t have

a Prime Minister.

But, my good man, I have one.

Oh. I see.

He is protected quite well.

But you – – – you apparently

have several methodologies.

That I do, that I do.

However, I don’t work

outside the country.

You should consider it,

we don’t have extradition

treaties with your country.

Good to hear.

But I still don’t work outside

the country.

If you are not confident

in your work

we can end the conversation

right now.

It is not a matter of confidence,

it is a matter of knowledge.

Knowledge?

Yes. The knowledge of what

systems run which mechanical

devices.

I see; however,

are not all computer systems common?

All based on 1’s and 0’s?

Yes. That’s true. However,

the conventions for transmitting

the necessary data are many fold.

Oh?

It is not necessary for you to know.

In fact it may be better for you

to be able to claim ignorance.

Ignorance my good man?!

Do I look ignorant?

No. I am saying it is better

for you not to know details.

Very good sir!

However; I am still not

comfortable about working

in another country.

If you don’t feel comfortable

then you are not the man for

the job.

I need a little reassurance from you

that I can move in and out of the country

at will and also move around within its

borders.

I can obtain such documents

as you may need.

Good. Can you also obtain

any technical documents

that I may need?

Surely you jest!

I am the Cultural Minister

and have access to any

reading material necessary.

I don’t want you to obtain it.

I want you completely disconnected

from anything I may be doing.

If you do not trust me sir

then maybe we should not

be working towards each

others ends.

Come on boys!

Why is it you guys always

have to end up in some sort

of masculine pissing contest?

(Silence)

(Silence)

I believe Phoebe has

a point there.

Good. Then we can proceed?

Yes George, let us proceed.

My fee is $250,000

plus expenses.

I see no problem.

Good.

Excellent.

Are my skills needed

for this job?

We will determine that

as we proceed with a plan.

Bring her along with you.

I will cover her expenses

and we can discuss fees

when we see if her skills

will be necessary.

Thank you Peter.

You are quite welcome Phoebe.

Possibly we can have

supper some time?

That is up to George.

I see no problem with it

as long as you two are discreet.

Sir! Do I think I reached my position

by being indiscreet?

No. But you do look vulnerable.

Maybe I should rethink hiring you

for this job.

Boys, boys, boys!

Can we get serious about this job.

I’m in.

Fine. Contact me by the

usual method when you

are ready.

I am looking forward to

a nice dinner with you Peter.

(Smile)

Prime Minister Dead in Train Crash

 

 

 

author1

 

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in THE ZODIACS. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE LIBRA

  1. Very entertaining. I am a Gemini. Conversation gets really convoluted with both of us speaking at the same time to the other people.

Leave a Reply

