THE LEO

Leo jpg

So you claim to be a Leo?

Yes, and I am damn proud of it too.

Do you know what they say

the traits of a Leo are?

No, not really.

Generous and warmhearted,

Creative and enthusiastic,

Broad-minded and expansive,

Faithful and loving.

Yep.

That’s me.

All the above.

Thanks for noticing.

I have to admit that

you are very generous.

How can you say that?

I have never given you anything.

Observation.

I know you would give anyone

the shirt off your back

if you thought that they

needed it worse than you.

Well – – – thank you.

That makes me feel good.

And you are very creative also.

I try to be but it never

comes out the way I want.

Do you show your work

to anyone and ask

for an honest critique?

No!

Why not?

I have tried it several times.

And?

And the people I ask have

absolutely no idea what

I am attempting to create.

Have you entered into

a conversation with them

to explain your work?

No.

Why not?

Let me try it one more time;

apparently you were not listening.

I said they had no appreciation

for my work.

Oh?

I won’t talk to people

about my work if they

don’t know what they

are talking about.

Do you know how that

makes you appear?

No.

And I don’t really care

to hear about it.

But you claim to be

a Leo.

Yet you don’t want to

hear what Leos are about.

I suppose I am about to hear it.

Yes.

I think you should.

Why?

I wouldn’t be a good friend

if I only told you about the

good side of people who

are Leos.

Go ahead.

Get it off your chest.

I know there will be

no peace until you do.

You really should

hear this.

You, my good man,

are an ass.

Hey!

I’m trying to help here.

Can I help it if I have

no tolerance for

your esoteric

bullshit?

THAT – – –

kind of attitude

is exactly what

I wish to tell you

about.

Don’t hold it back,

like I said;

“get it off your chest.”

Here it is.

I can’t wait.

I have told you about

Leo’s good side.

Ahah!

There is another side

of the coin?

The bad side is they

appear to be

pompous and patronizing,

bossy and interfering,

dogmatic and intolerant.

You are saying

that is what I am?

Good friend you

turned out to be.

No.

See?

You didn’t listen.

But I did.

No you didn’t.

I said that is what

Leos APPEAR to be.

I didn’t say they were

actually like that.

Proceed.

You see Leos are not

named after a lion

for no good reason.

And?

And they tend to

roar in order to

cover their fears.

Fear of what?

Fear of criticism.

I am not afraid to

be criticized!

Oh no?

You just told me

that you don’t want

anyone to look at

what you create.

I said I don’t want

people who don’t know

what they are talking about

to criticize my work.

Are you sure that all

those people have no idea

what they are talking about?

Of course!

Oh – – – I see.

Are you sure you are not

just rationalizing away

your fear of criticism?

Yes.

DAMN IT – – –

WHY DO YOU KEEP HARPING

ON THIS SUBJECT?

You see – – –

right there – – –

you are a Leo

roaring to cover

your fear of my criticism.

Hmmm.

Maybe you have a point.

Well – – –

I don’t want to belabor

the subject.

I appreciate that.

I will need some time

to think about what you

have just told me.

Super!

Now lets grab a beer

and go out to sit

on the patio.

Sounds good to me.

OK.

Then I can tell you

about my neighbor

who is a

Capricorn.

Oh Christ!

More esoteric bullcrap.

You must be a Sagittarius.

How did you know?

You all think that you are

some sort of philosopher.

Hmmm.

Maybe you have a point there.

 

 

 

 

author1

 

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in THE ZODIACS. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE LEO

  1. your esoteric

    bullshit?

    This is the most dangerous kind. Regular people don’t know they’re being hoodwinked.

Leave a Reply

