THE SAGITTARIUS

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

“He is a Sagittarius Mom!”

“So?”

“They say all who wander are not lost.

“And?”

And he will become a vagabond – – –

and an eternal traveler – – –

and he will seek Truth, Beauty, and Wisdom.

“Yeh, sure, is there more?”

Lots more Mom – – –

The only way he can find these is to travel.

He will meet others, and ask soul-searching questions.

“And that is the end of it?”

No Mom – – –

Knowledge will be important to him.

He will become interested in philosophy,

religion, and the meaning of everything.”

“Where do you get these strange ideas?”

“It’s in the newspapers Mom.

Every day they put it in the newspaper

– – – right next to the comic section.”

“Do you really believe all that?”

“Sure Mom, sure I do.

It’s right there in the newspaper.”

“Sounds like he will be a handful”

“Maybe so, but we have to give him a chance.”

“Maybe once, twice – – – but no more.”

“OK Mom. You’ll see.”

“Don’t tell your father what you just told me.

You know how nervous he gets about such things.”

“Sure thing Mom, sure thing.”

“Well – – – call your Dad and tell him

to come and pick up me and this baby

Sagittarius at the side door of the hospital.”

“OK Mom.

You got ten cents?

I’m broke.”

“Yeh. My purse is in the nightstand.”

 

And that was his second day on this earth.

She lied.

She gave him not one,

not two,

not three,

but more chances

than he deserved.

§

As he stood in his crib,

hanging on to the side rails,

he saw the image of a man’s face

reflecting off the surface 

his bedroom window.

He screamed

bloody murder.

 

She came running up the stairs.

 

“What’s going on up there?

“He saw a man in the window.

The man is gone now.”

“I knew he was going to be trouble.”

“He can see things Mom,

I tell you – – – he can see things.”

 §

A few years later he asked

“Who was I before I was me?”

She stood by the ironing board,

lacking an answer,

her lungs froze.

 What the hell thought

 

 

Then he started taking those long-short-cuts.

 

“Where did he go now?”

 

“I told you Mom,

he is going to be

an eternal traveler;

seeking truth.”

“Yeh? Well he better not

do it again.”

 

However, he did do it again,

and again,

and again;

much to her consternation.

 §

Then it was the

‘running away’

period.

 

“He is just trying

to learn things Mom.”

“Yeh? Well he better not

do it again.”

 

However, he did do it again,

and again,

and again;

much to her consternation.

 §

“He wants to go

to Mrs. Tillis’

church Mom.”

 

“Now what?”

 

“Mrs. Tillis says

he can learn things

there.”

 

“I suppose so.

Tell him he can go.

But don’t tell your father.

You know how he feels

about such things.”

 

However, all he ever saw there were little cards

that the elders gave him.

The cards had pictures of men

dressed in robes on one side

– – – and words on the other side.

The cards all started to look alike

after a few months.

He was disappointed.

He stopped his Sunday visits

with Mrs. Tillis.

She was disappointed.

 §

“He wants to go

fishing alone Mom.”

 

“That’s a crazy idea.

Alone?

Tell him I said no.”

“Mom says ‘no’.”

 

But he went anyway.

And, he went again,

and again,

and again;

much to her consternation.

 

“He knows the river Mom.

And the fish.

He knows what

the fish will do.”

“Yeh? Well we will see

what good that does him.”

 §

“He crossed

the railroad bridge

on foot

yesterday, Mom.”

 

“Now he has gone too far.

Why did he cross the bridge?”

 

“He wanted to see the old canal bed Mom

– – – and the old toll house foundation

– – – and the gravel pit

– – – and you should see

the beautiful stones

he found there Mom.”

 

“I’m telling his father.”

 

“Don’t Mom.

He is just wandering.

I told you he would wander.

He told me how he walks

the rails and ties.

He’s careful Mom.”

 §

And then there was the dump.

He loved the dump.

All sorts of treasures

were thrown away

on the dump.

 

“You should see what

he is doing now Mom.”

 

“I can just imagine!”

 

“He brought home

a big pile of

old copper wire

and he has built

a fire out back

and he has thrown

the wire into a fire

to burn off

the insulation.”

“So?”

“He says he is

going to make

money.”

 

And he did,

he sold the copper to

the junk dealer,

Mr. Brown.

 

“He had me help him

drag burlap bags

from the dump

today, Mom”

 

“I suppose he wants

me to haul it

to Mr. Brown’s?”

 

“Yes Mom.

And he is going

to share the money

with me.”

“That’s nice.”

 §

“He sees things Mom.

He sees things that we

can’t see Mom.

“Like what things?”

“Things from the future Mom.”

“Oh don’t be silly.”

“No, really Mom.

He knows when something

is going to happen.”

“Oh, he is just interpreting.”

“How can he interpret Mom?

He only knows English.”

“He doesn’t interpret words,

he interprets ideas.”

 

“Like what Mom?”

“Like the weather,

he interprets the breeze,

and the sky,

and the bird’s actions,

and then blends all that,

into the coming weather.”

“Is that how he knows

about the fish Mom?”

“Yes”

“And does he interpret

the stones from the

gravel pit?”

“Yes”

“But rocks are from

the past Mom,

not the future.”

“Yes, but he interprets

them into what he may

determine about the future.”

“That’s a good answer Mom,

I think I understand him now.”

“Yes, he can be hard to understand.”

“I am going to tell Dad.

Maybe he should know this,

then he could understand him.”

“No, I wouldn’t do that.

You know how your father is.”

“OK Mom.”

§

Then the teen years came.

“Why are you so quiet Mom”

“I am thinking about your brother.”

“Are you worried

about him?”

“Yes, as a matter of fact

I am.”

“Me too Mom”

“Why are you worried about him?”

“I saw him drinking whisky

down by the river.”

“I expected that. Your father and

him probably understand

each other now.”

And his mother remained quiet.

(and his father finally understood him)

§

“Why are you so quiet Mom”

“I am thinking about your brother.”

“Are you still worried

about him?”

“Yes, I am.”

“How come Mom?”

“Well – – – not that it is

any of your business but

he hasn’t slept in his own bed

for three nights now.”

“Where is he Mom?”

“Probably sleeping at

some strumpets apartment.”

“Oh – – – doesn’t he like

us any more?”

“No, it’s not that. He just has to

do what he has to do. He will be back.”

“That’s good Mom, that’s good.

§

And finally the military got him,

and he finally

grew up.

Then the finishing touches

were put on

the

Sagittarius.

 §

“He turned out to be

a good brother

didn’t he Mom.”

“Yes”

“He was a Sagittarius Mom!”

“So?”

“Remember what I said

when he was born?”

“Not really.”

“I said he would wander

but never would be lost.”

“Well – – – he did wander

but always came back.”

“And I said he will become a vagabond

and an eternal traveler.”

“But I didn’t know you meant that

he would be a be a mental vagabond

and traveler through history.”

“Yes Mom.

He sought Truth, Beauty, and Wisdom,

finding these through travel.”

“But most of his travels

were through books.”

 

“You have to remember Mom,

that he would go out of his way

to meet others, and ask

soul-searching questions.”

“I have to admit

he did have a gift

for gab.”

“Knowledge was important to him Mom.”

“That was true.

I think even your father

finally understood that.”

“Why do you think he came so late

to understand knowledge Mom?”

“He had to get basic life

out of the way first.”

“Oh – – – I have to give that

more thought Mom.”

“Yes, that requires some thought.”

“He became interested in philosophy,

religion, and the meaning of everything Mom.

Do you think he understood it all?”

“No. I don’t think anyone

can understand everything.”

“I miss him Mom.”

“I know, we all do.”

“Goodnight Mom.”

“Goodnight.”

“Tell him and Dad I said hello

the next time you visit

the graves.”

“I will.”

 author1

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in THE ZODIACS. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to THE SAGITTARIUS

  1. 68ghia says:

    Such a cool descriptive piece this. The ending – sad.
    But I see much of myself, the Sag, in this. We do wander – some physically, some mentally, but we’re never still…

    • Thank you so much for the nice comments. But thank you even more for taking the time to read it.
      We were meant to wander – – – and wonder about things.
      Thank God (or whoever is out there), otherwise it would be a boring life.

  2. authormbeyer says:

    This reminds me of Paul Fleischman’s poetry book, Joyful Noise (a poem for three voices). He does the same sort of verbal tennis, back and forth across the page… But that’s about bugs and nature. Yours seems more like a poem about the human soul. I like it. It resonates with profound ideas and emotions.

    • Thank you for the kind comments Author. I am happy that you enjoyed it. I have been trying out new ways to write and this style seemed to work quite well. It allowed me to tell a lot more of the story in between the words.
      Thanks again.
      Wally

  3. it’s such a sad end, but it was great to read. many thanks!

    • My many thanks to you for taking the time to read it. I know your spare time must be in short supply with all that is going on.
      Therefore it means a lot to know you made time to read it.
      Hope all goes well.
      Wally

  4. Brian Dead Rift Webb says:

    Reblogged this on Brian By Experience and commented:
    This is a shameless promotions of a friend’s work.
    Keep going Wally.

  5. AMAZING! beautifully said.. accurate on so many levels! I am a Sadge so I totally get it and though the end is very sad…he must be ‘out there’ still wandering…eternally …Mr. Tomosky; VERY TALENTED!!! I couldn’t stop reading until it ended and I HAD to!
    All the best;
    Tamara
    http://www.tamaragilford.com

  6. Carolyn Page says:

    Loved that, Wally; great dialogue, to be sure.
    I hope another comes along for you; you do this so very well!

    • Thanks Carolyn, I had fun writing it and it seems as though a few people also enjoyed reading it.
      I hope all is well with you.
      Thanks for stopping by and spending some time.
      Wally

      • Carolyn Page says:

        Yes indeed, Wally. It was quite fun to read. Think you’re on a winner there! 😉

      • Carolyn Page says:

        I meant to mention, Wally – I’m slowly but surely recovering. Not up to ‘kicking up my heels’, though, at least, my days are becoming a little longer with a little more energy. Life’s full of challenges – ours but to take them and strengthen during the process.
        Once again; loved this! 🙂

  7. susielindau says:

    This is BRILLIANT and brought tears to my eyes. Amazing!
    Thanks for bringing this post to the party! Lots of new faces to meet while hopping!

Leave a Reply

