NOTICED! Part 14: One Friday Night

The autobiography of a woman; by Waldorfia

My fellow workers often gossiped at the lunch table.

Girls talking in office

One nondescript Friday a coworker enticed me to accompany her to a favorite watering hole. She said that “everyone that was anyone in the software business hung out there.”

“What goes on there?” I asked.

“Oh, we just sit around and talk. Most of the discussion centers on our work lives. It can get a bit boorish; you know, working all day with this stuff and then discussing it all evening.”

That was all she had to say. With my strong background in systems and software I was sure to be noticed. It would not be boorish to me.

“Why thanks!” I said enthusiastically. “I think that I may enjoy the crowd. Anyway, what else would I do? Sit home and watch TV?”

“Sounds great” she responded. “I’ll drop by and pick you up at 6 P.M.”

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in NOTICED! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

