MY FIRST BLOG (Chapter 11)

by Waldorfia Tomosky              

Saturday (All Day)

I was surprised tht he knew so much about my writing.

“How would you know about my writing?” I asked.

He responded “I was impressed with your application cover letter and the portfolio of your opinion pieces from high school. Even though I was impressed with that it would have been foolish if I had based my decision based on such a small sample. I have to admit that I did a little detective work and looked for anything else you had written; whether in high school or college. Some of your graduate research papers were not only brilliant but elegant. I could not put down your thesis.”

 “I could not find a poorly written item in all of it. In fact I found your writing quite creative and exciting; even the ones about autoclaves and beakers. You seem to really love your work no matter what you are doing.”

I was speechless and I said so. “You give me too much credit. I am at a loss for words.”

“You never seem to be at a loss for words when you write” he offered.

“What exactly do you want me to do? When would you like me to start?” I answered enthusiastically; probably a little too soon. He had not even mentioned a salary yet.

“Let’s start right now” he said. “I have an idea of what I want my blog to bloggers to say. I know what I want them to take away after reading it. The problem is I just don’t know how to say it. I know how to blog but I don’t know how to generate enthusiasm about it.”

“Why don’t we work on it together then?” I asked.

Something – – – I don’t know what – – – happened to my mind at that very moment.

“Have you ever been blogged before?” he asked.

“No, why would anyone want to blog me?” I answered with a question.

“You appear to be a desirable blog” he offered.

“OK then. Let’s make a deal” I countered. “We can blog each other.”

We wrote, we crossed out, we created files and deleted files; we took a break, we had a drink, we lost track of time and agreed to spend our whole weekend blogging.

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in My First Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

