MY FIRST BLOG (Chapter 10)

by Waldorfia Tomosky              

Saturday Morning (Continued)

We had just finished breakfast at the hotel he owned, hopped into the  Ferrari he owned and headed for the office building that he owned.

The Ferrari took an abrupt right hand turn and down a ramp. The underground parking lot was well lit and clean. He had a private parking spot by the elevator. The convertible top was raised and locked in place. Before I knew it we were getting on the elevator. He pushed the button to the 11th floor. The elevator neither lurched nor made any noise. If it were not for the lighted numbers above the door I would have thought we were not moving at all. The door opened and we had reached our destination.

It looked like the standard business office; almost-private cubicles, racks of computer servers and a bank of customer service cells, each with its own phone. The cubicles were relatively empty and the customer service people were busy talking to customers. We walked past all of that and went directly to his office. It was very well done in rosewood and birch. Off to the side was another room with a bar and a few easy chairs

He immediately turned on a computer and opened up the blinds. The view from this 11th floor office was absolutely gorgeous. I swear that I could see Cape Cod. I was soaking up the views when he spoke. “Come over here I wish to show you something.” I walked over to where he was standing. He pointed to the computer screen and explained each section. I generally understood what he was saying but I hoped he was not going to test me on it.

He queried the computer for a list of the most visited blog sites. There appeared a long list; however, the top twenty bloggers had the highest number of visits. In fact they had the majority of visits with the remainder of the list tapering off sharply. So sharply in fact that we never did bother looking at the remainder of the list; this must have totaled in the thousands.

“These are the people that make money for me” he said. “These very few bloggers bring in most of the business. The interesting fact is that there are hundreds and hundreds of bloggers who are much better writers than these top few. But these few have stumbled on the secret of successful blogging. The one common element among them is that they have a consistent message. Each one has a common thread that ties their blogs together. Very rarely do they wander off their intended target.”

It was time for me to understand what I was doing there. So I asked. “What part do you want me to play in your business?”

“I want you to become my chief blogger” he said. “I want you to blog about blogs. I have the concept but I do not have the artistic and creative skills  – – – – – – –  you do!”

“How would you know that?” I asked.

He simply smiled at me.

 

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in My First Blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

