MY FIRST BLOG (Chapter 9)

by Waldorfia Tomosky              

Saturday Morning (Continued)

As I sat there eating breakfast with my interviewer I wondered why he would be needing my skills for his blogging business. I needed a delicate way to broach the subject and decided to wait until a more proper time. I allowed him to take the lead for the remainder of breakfast.

We were finished with the meal and he asked if I wanted anything else. I responded in the negative. He rose from his chair and walked around the table to assist me. My mind, again, went to the thought of what a gentleman he was.

It was only then that I thought about the charges for breakfast. It dawned on me that he had not paid for last night’s meal and was about to commit the same omission for this morning’s meal.

I remained silent.

As we walked through the restaurant I expected one of the wait staff to stop us and gently remind him about the bill.

No one did.

He made small talk about the hotel and how nice the employees were. He then said “I hope it is not because they work for me.”

I had a hard time absorbing what he was saying. I responded “Oh, do you own the restaurant?”

“No, I own the hotel” he answered. I almost collapsed on the spot.

It took me a minute to realize that he owned two businesses in Boston; the hotel and the blogging site. I wondered what else he owned. I was so surprised at his casual comment that I did not say anything. 

The doors of the elevator opened up and I realized we were on the lower level parking lot. He led me to a car. It was not his Mercedes but a bright red F430 Ferrari convertible.

“What happened to your Mercedes?” I asked quite naïvely.

“I like the Mercedes for chilly nights. The weatherman is predicting a nice day for us so I thought you may enjoy the Ferrari. Besides, I enjoy showing you off” he said, as a matter of fact. He was confident enough not to wait for any response from me professing false humility. Therefore I offered none. He opened the door of the Ferrari and I got in.

It was a nice ride to his office. I think he took us a little out of the way because I saw the same buildings several times. It must have been an honest remark when he said “I enjoy showing you off.” Why else would he be going in circles?

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in My First Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

