THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: A New Jesuit (Post XIV)

The sad man’s college experience left him empty. His college deferment was cancelled and he was drafted into the army. He did not feel comfortable about placing other draftees in jobs that did not fit – – – but it was the “army way.” He frequently visited the chaplain; partially for guidance and partially for atonement through confession.

I was ready to hear his post-war confession.

**********************

“By the end of the war the chaplain and I had become good friends.”

“I had told him about my lost thought and the time that I had seen the meaning of the Trinity. I asked him if my thoughts of the Trinity were original and he said ‘Sadly they are not. Your lost thought must be about another subject.’”

“He then informed me that even though someone else had defined the meaning of the Trinity my thoughts had been original to me. In fact he told me that I must have some unique type of intelligence because I was able to think about the Trinity and finish my doctoral degree.”

“He then suggested that I look into joining the church as a Jesuit priest.”

” He added ‘With your educational background and logic you would be more than welcome.'”

“And so; I left the U.S. Army without finding my lost thought. However, I had been given a new path and opportunity to find that thought.”

“My hopes were elevated as I looked into the organization.”

“The Jesuits, founded by St. Ignatius Loyola, believed in a regimen of spiritual exercises. These exercises involved the mind, memory, will and imagination. This had to be what I was seeking.”

“The Jesuits had established thousands of schools, colleges and universities. In addition to education they also believed in exercising the mind, training the memory, strengthening the will and training yourself to be imaginative, creative and to seek original thoughts. I surely would find my lost thought in the Jesuit organization.”

“I joined.”

 

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in THE LOST THOUGHT and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: A New Jesuit (Post XIV)

  1. Jesuits? Now he’ll be lost in lost books.

  2. Reblogged this on waldotomosky and commented:

    Episode Fourteen

  3. cindy knoke says:

    I liked many of these before but they are erased. Fascinating series Wally~

    • The Images and Tales of the Adirondacks was reformatted into one of my books on Kindle/Amazon. I allowed to to also stay on WordPress for awhile and then erased it.
      Hope you are well and it is not to hot out west.
      Wally

Leave a Reply

