THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: Things in Museums (Post IX)

Now we were getting somewhere. The sad man had formulated a plan. He was going go stimulate his mind to see if he could find his lost thought. He was going to seek stimulation in the halls where learned men took refuge.

**********************

“My visits to various museums were very interesting but my original thought remained lost.”

“Then one day a museum docent was leading a group of us around. She was speaking about the central and southern American Indians and the locations where they had lived. She informed us that the Spanish word for corn ‘MAIZE’ would be of assistance.

‘M’ was the northern most tribe; the Maya. ‘A’ would represent the central tribe; the Aztecs. Finally the ‘I’ would remind us of the southern tribes; the Incas. MAIZE would help us remember the series Maya, Aztec, Inca, but Zapotecs would be the Exception.”

M A I Z E

“’That’s it’ I hollered out loud. ‘That is my original thought. I can remember things if I put them into one of those things that help us remember.’”

“The docent looked at me as if I were a little loony. She asked ‘Do you mean an acronym?’”

“As soon as she said it I realized the disaster in my present thought; if this was my original thought then I could not lay claim to it. I had never heard the word ‘acronym’ before so how could that be my lost thought? It was close but apparently my original thought had to remain lost. I was deeply disappointed.”

“I continued my museum visits but soon realized that anything that was in a museum was not original.”

“Everything had existed before. That was why it was a museum. There were models of cave dwellers, trains, bridges, climate changes, airplanes, Indian villages, canal boats, catacombs, baseball fields and paraphernalia.”

“I have to admit there were a few semi-original things such as arrowheads, Indian pottery, stuffed bustards, penguins, and wolverines. Still, all of these things existed well before my original thought; which was now lost. My museum visits were educational but not productive for my quest. I abandoned them.”

I asked the sad man “How many museums did you visit?”

“Countless ones, countless” he replied. He continued speaking apparently hoping that I would be counting. “Roberson in Binghamton, Canal in Syracuse, Nayaug in Scranton, Museum of Torture in Germany, Auschwitz also in Germany, Baseball in Cooperstown, Natural History in Washington, Salt in Salzburg” and then he abruptly stopped when he saw that I was not counting.

“You have to realize when visiting a museum that there is nothing original to be seen. There is a lot to be learned but nothing brand new. That is the lot that museums have been burdened with.”

“Now churches, there is something new to be learned in churches every day.”

The sad man’s mood seemed to have taken a quick turn for the better.

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in THE LOST THOUGHT and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: Things in Museums (Post IX)

  1. Reblogged this on waldotomosky and commented:

    Episode Nine

  2. “’That’s it’ I hollered out loud. ‘That is my original thought. I can remember things if I put them into one of those things that help us remember.’”

    “The docent looked at me as if I were a little loony. She asked ‘Do you mean an acronym?’”

    I have done this – had original thoughts that were already out there – same thought by others but we never had any connection.

Leave a Reply

