THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: A Lost Love (Post V)

It had been no more than thirty minutes since I had met this very sad man. I learned four things about him since we met.

First, he smoked; and apparently liked my cigarettes better than his own.

Two, as a boy,  he had lived in a cabin by himself.

Three, he and a blond girl, that lived on the same dirt road as he, became close plutonic friends.

Four, I had to be carefull because he would burst into sobs at the most inopportune moments.

On the otherhand maybe that fourth one was something I learned about myself as well as him. That is all beside the point; allow me to continue the sad man’s story.

************************

“Then it happened!” said the man as I sat there on that log listening to his story.

Again, he didn’t even wait for me to ask the obligatory “what happened?”

“The little blond girl stopped speaking to me. I lost her because of my stubbornness. I am not sure why I did the following; I just did it. I started cleaning my own fingernails. I washed my pants more often; and my shirt also. When I had clean fingernails and clothes a good feeling came upon me. You know, – – – the same feeling that I got after I cut and split a cord of wood. I figured if I got cleaned up and then split wood I would feel twice as good. However, once I finished cutting wood my fingernails and clothes were filthy again. So I never felt twice as good.”

“The little blond girl was lost. It was not a complete loss because she had taught me things. I could get cleaned up and go to the farmers’ market. At first I just looked because I had no money. There were good things displayed on the back of the trucks; apples so big I could never have imagined it, big leaks that they called scallions, and squash of all sizes and colors. I sure wanted to try some of the food that was displayed but I had no money. As I was leaving the market I noticed one man selling wild leeks. ‘I could do that’ said I to myself.”

The sad man stopped telling his story and asked if he might have another cigarette. I shook one half way out of the pack and offered it to him. We lit up and smoked a bit before he continued his story.

 

 

 

 

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in THE LOST THOUGHT and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: A Lost Love (Post V)

  1. Reblogged this on waldotomosky and commented:

    Episode Five

  2. cindy knoke says:

    So creative Wally!

Leave a Reply

