THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: On a Foggy Day (Post II)

POST II

We had met on a misty and foggy day in the dark hemlock forest. He started to explain his lost thought but immediately broke down into tears.

I quickly offered an apology. “I’m sorry. I just did not understand what you were telling me. In fact I am still not quite sure what you are saying. You said ‘A lost thought’ as if it was really lost.”

The man confirmed my review of his statement with a simple “Yes.”

“We all lose our train of thought from time to time. Are you lost?” I questioned.

“No, that’s not it” he responded.

“I believe I am going to need some help with this” said I.

“Yes. I can see that this has not happened to you, this losing of a thought” he answered.

For some unknown reason we seemed to bond with just those few words spoken between us. He appeared comfortable with me and I had no reason to be concerned about this apparently sad gentleman.

I spied a short log that remained from a previous timber cutting of those woods. I set down my basket which contained my finds; a few morels and two handfuls of leeks.

 The man remained quiet as I rolled the log over to where he was sitting. I offered him a cigarette and he accepted. I lit both his and mine. The smoke slowely drifted off into the fog and mist.

“Please explain your dilemma” I asked as I sat down on my wet log.

I expected an explanation that would take about the length of a cigarette. I planned to get on my search for mushrooms and wild onions as soon as he finished. But it was not after one cigarette. We finished the pack before he finished his story. I have never heard of anyone losing a thought the way he did. He explained it the following way:

 

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in Philosophical, THE LOST THOUGHT and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: On a Foggy Day (Post II)

  1. Reblogged this on waldotomosky and commented:

    The Second Installation of This Story

  2. cindy knoke says:

    so creative & clever~

Leave a Reply

