THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: Introduction

Hi,

I posted this story  on Zuckerberg’s 401K  (FB) last year. My apologies if you have read it before.

It will be posted here as a series – – – one piece at a time.

Otherwise you would not finish reading it.

No one likes a long post on a blog.

Well – – – – – –  you may still have the same thoughts.

But I warranty (no guarantees are offered here) when you get to the end you will ask yourself; 

“What the hell was that all about?”

And then some of the story will return.

It is like the old song “Is That All There Is To A Fire?”

This story is difficult to explain. It is like a fire.

We all know what a fire is but could you explain it to someone who has never experienced fire?

So – – – I can not explain the story. You will just have to read the posts.

Bummer, huh?

I will blather no more. Here we go!

*********************

THE LOST THOUGHT

It was rather gloomy when I met him; one of those drizzly days that, at times, seemed to subside into a mist. I had been walking along a small brook looking for fresh leeks and morel mushrooms.

He was sitting under a tall white pine tree. His cloths were a mixture of browns and greens. These colors plus the mist and fog almost made him invisible.

I was already past him when he said “Hello.”

It was a soft “Hello.” The softness plus the mild tone did not cause me alarm. This feeling of ease occurred even though I expected to see no one in this dark remote forest.

“Hello” I echoed. I hoped it was as pleasant as his hello.

I continued on with “What are you doing out here in the rain?”

“I don’t know” he responded.

This was followed up by him offering “Maybe the same thing as you are.”

I asked him “Have you found any morels or leeks?”

“No. I am not looking for morels and leeks. Is that what you are doing?” he answered with a question. He spoke in a mild and non threatening manner.

“Yes, I am” said I. “But, then, what are you looking for?”

“A thought” he responded. “I am looking for a lost thought.”

Wishing to be empathetic I said “Yes, I know the feeling. When I need a new insight about a problem I often go into the woods and sit on the biggest log I can find. New ideas come to me.”

“No.” he said sadly. “I am not looking for a new thought. I am looking for a lost thought.”

My remark must have been harsh instead of empathetic. The man under the tree broke into tears.

 

 

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in Philosophical, THE LOST THOUGHT and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE MAN WHO LOST A THOUGHT: Introduction

  1. Reblogged this on waldotomosky and commented:

    An introduction to a short story; in short snippets (which makes it digestible – – – with a little salt added for taste).

  2. cindy knoke says:

    Very clever and well written!

    • Why thank you very much Cindy.

      I loved your pics of the Canadian waterfalls. Even though it sounds strange, the rocks were also beautiful.

      The nuns said “Now don’t be envious Wally.” But I am envious of your travels.

  3. OK. I’ll look for next one.

Leave a Reply

