LANDSCAPE BY THE RAILSIDE

I saw the tracks, they were shiny, like new,

They glared in the sun, a type of silvery hue,

They traveled, past life’s points quite a few,

At the side of the track, I observed them and grew.

 

And I watched each local, and wondered out loud,

What occurred to segments of the varying crowd,

There were oldsters just milling, some humble, some proud,

Plus middle-agers, pushing, to succeed had they vowed.

 

And teenagers, directionless, but quite energetic,

Saying things that the seniors were calling heretic,

There were blacks, some lethargic, others quite kinetic,

Some PhDs. were espousing, that crime was genetic.

 

And whites, quite arrogant in their short range successes,

Puffing their positions, in power ties and dresses,

There were raiders, eventually making those messes,

Followed by economists, taking educated guesses.

 

And the immigrants, some working, others on the dole,

Misusing the system, our tax dollars taking the toll,

While their brothers labored, keen eyes on the goal,

Their opinions and dreams, not being sought in a poll.

 

But still I was missing, a most important view,

That being the point, as seen by the crew,

So I hopped aboard, as the railroad train drew,

Away from the station, life starting anew.

 

And an amazing thing happened, as I became part,

Of the crowds that I viewed, with my unreasonable art,

Of critiquing and faulting, sometimes without heart,

“Now I am them!” I exclaimed with a start.

 

I traveled through all the variety of life’s stages,

And was amazed at the effect, of God turning the pages,

Sometimes high, others low, I don’t know how one gauges,

The wide swings that appeared, they were simply outragess.

 

I finally realized it is easy to observe from afar,

To criticize and beleaguer, and reputations mar,

And find other’s lifestyles, are not quite on par,

With opinions of my own, tending to glow like a star.

 

But to realize the truth and seek out the good,

I found that each of us, must live in the hood,

Or walk in their shoes, as they say we all should,

Were we not quite so human, we certainly would.

 

We each have our faults, and our winning ways too,

As others do.

 

© Copyright – Waldo Tomosky

 

About Waldo "Wally" Tomosky

I am proud of my work life (not the jobs, just the work).  Bait monger  Lawn mower  Paper boy  Windshield cleaner in a drive-in theater (if you don't know what a drive-in theater is there is no sense in you reading any farther)  Snack shack janitor in a drive in theater (ditto for drive-in theater)  Milling machine clean-up boy in a tool and die shop  Plastic injection press operator  Centurion in the US Army  Factory hand  Apprentice boy  Tool and die maker  Software user manual writer  Computer programmer  Ex-patriate par excellence  Engineering manager  Software test manager  Retiree  University administrator  System analyst  Retiree (2nd try)  Licensed amateur paleontologist  Retiree (3rd try)  Shovel bum (archaeology)  Retiree (4th try)  Delivery driver  Retiree (5th try)  Graduate student (skipped AA and BA due to the level of difficulty)  Retiree (finally got the drift of it) I have been writing for fourteen years and have fifteen books on Amazon/Kindle. Some horror, some twisted, some experimental, some essay and a few historical. I think that now I will really, really, really retire and just write. Lets see if I can do retirement correctly this time!
This entry was posted in Philosophical and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LANDSCAPE BY THE RAILSIDE

  1. 熟女
    Judge not, that ye be not judged

Leave a Reply

